The Super Bowl – I Really Don’t Care About The Game, The Greatness That Is Jim Nantz

Posted: February 5, 2010 by The Mark in NFL Football
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maybe it’s because I live in Korea but I really have no interest in this game.  Neither team appeals to me.  There’s no hype here.  I don’t have to read about it in the papers.  If this game happens or not, it wouldn’t matter to me.  All I know is that New Orleans is playing Indianapolis in Miami and I think this is Super Bowl XLIV. 

The game is on CBS with Jim Nantz and Phil Simms doing the game.  You should be in for a treat if you get to watch it because Jim Nantz makes anything better.  Simms is hit or miss but Nantz is always gold.  If I were going to watch this game I would be interested solely in the way Nantz is calling the game and making Simms his bitch.  Jim Nantz should be doing all major sporting events.  He already OWNS The Masters and March Madness (even when Billy Packer was there).  Nantz should be a free agent and able to call all big events on other networks.  He should be in Vancouver for the Winter Olympics and in South Africa for the World Cup.  Those events would benefit from having a Jim Nantz call the action.  World Series, NBA Finals, Wimbledon,…… whatever, Nantz makes it all better.  Plus, for all you How I Met Your Mother fans, check out Jim Nantz on the Perfect Week episode.  He nailed it.  Even if you’re not a fan of the show, watch it, you’ll change you’re mind after seeing Nantz interviewing Barney.  Jim Fucking Nantz.

This guy should be calling everything

On to the actual game:

Line:  Indianapolis (-5), O/U 56.5

Pick: Colts 

I know New Orleans scores a lot of points but Peyton Manning is the MVP of the damn league.  He can do whatever he wants, whenever he wants.  I don’t care about Dwight Freeney being injured.  This game begins and ends with Peyton Manning.  This game is going under. 

Indianapolis 31-23 

I’m kind of glad I’m not at home for the coverage because for some reason I have a feeling that Hurricane Katrina will makes its way into the subplot of this game and it really shouldn’t.  Neither thing has anything to do with the other.  If New Orleans wins it won’t erase anything that happened in the wake of the hurricane.  New Orleans won’t miraculously be a better place if the Saints win.  You can interview all the people you want but a Super Bowl win won’t make anything better; it will just make the people who were affected by the storm forget for a while.

No matter who wins, this still happened

Comments
  1. […] not in the states and the Super Bowl might as well have been the NHL Finals, except for the whole Jim Nantz thing. I think the Penguins won the last Stanley Cup but I'm not […]

Leave a Reply

