Round two of the NFL Playoffs have come and gone and a couple things are clear.  First, I can’t pick games to save my life right now.  Second, Tony Romo is not ready to take the next step and I’m not sure if he’ll ever be.  Third, Philip Rivers is a pretty good quarterback but he’s only good enough to get you there but not good enough to win it. 

Thanks Indy for keeping me from losing all four games on the weekend.  The Bearded One and I both agreed the over/under for the Arizona – New Orleans was too low at 57 but boy were we wrong.  The game ended at 59.  Man, those guys are good.  I don’t know how many times I’ve questioned the lines but somehow they always come through. 

Forget about what I (and The Blasian) said about the Cowboys doing an impression of the 2008 Giants.  The Giant had a REAL quarterback, a quarterback that didn’t fold when the team needed him most.  If Eli Manning had folded in the Super Bowl, we’d still be talking about the undefeated Patriots.  And, I’d never have to see or hear about the 1972 Dolphins again. 

I’m sorry Cowboy fans but you’ll never win anything with Romo.  In past years Terrell Owens was the problem but where does the blame lie now?  It should fall squarely on the shoulders of the quarterback.  How do you follow-up the solid game against the Eagles in the Wild Card game by stinking up the joint against the Vikings.  Romo’s quarterback rating was 66.1 while grandpa Favre’s rating was 134.4.  Face it Dallas fans, it wasn’t Terrell Owens, it wasn’t Jessica Simpson, it was Tony Romo.  He’s hit the ceiling already.  There’s no next level for him.  He can have a million dollar smile but right now I’d take ten other quarterbacks in a big game, including The Sanchise because he’s found a way to get things done.  All you Romo fans, call me when he wins something.   

Philip Rivers, you broke my heart.  I’ve been on your bandwagon since you got drafted out of NC State.  I hated the way Eli Manning pouted on draft day so I immediately became a Rivers fan.  I told my friends to watch out for Rivers because he would win more than Eli.  It didn’t happen and it will never happen.  Not only would I, and Charger fans, want Eli Manning now but I would also take an older Drew Brees.  Remember him San Diego fans?  He had to go to make room for Philip and now Brees makes it rain every Sunday.  Rivers can throw for thousands and thousands of yards a year but, until he wins the big one, I could give a shit. 

Has Norv Turner been fired yet?

Can we write an obituary on LaDainian Tomlinson’s career?  I don’t think anyone is scared of him anymore. 

Is The Sanchise for real?  Sure, he doesn’t have great numbers but he’s finding ways to get it done and that’s what matters.

Does Kurt Warner know where he is yet?  He got jacked-up big-time.  Looks like SoCal Matt will be the Cardinals quarterback next year. 

Can someone with a Dallas uniform please cover Sidney Rice?

Leave a Reply

