Last week didn’t go so well.  1-3 against the number, with Dallas being the only thing I got right, so the man would have been very happy with me.  What went wrong?  Seems The Sanchise was enough, considering Ochocinco decided not to show up for the game.  That thing I said about Ben Watson?  Yeah, that didn’t happen.  Yes, Aaron Rodgers had a monster game but his fumble cost the Packers the game.  Thanks Aaron, maybe you are just like Brett Favre after all.  He did throw that interception against the Giants in the NFC Championship game that led to an end of the Packers 2007 season. 

On to the games:

Baltimore @ Indianapolis (-6.5)

Pick:  Colts

This number is funny.  I thought it would be higher but then I noticed that the Colts have the 24th ranked rushing defense.  They gave up 126.5 yards per game during the regular season.  Remember how bad their rushing defense was during their Super Bowl year?  Somehow they turned it up in the playoffs and were stopping people.  I don’t know how much they can stop Ray Rice.  No matter, too much Manning and Wayne with a little Dallas Clark and the Colts win and cover.

Arizona @ New Orleans (-7)

Pick:  Cardinals

First team to 40 wins this one.  Or is it 50?  Boldin looks like he might play in this game but how healthy is he if they haven’t made the decision yet?  This will probably be the most exciting game of the playoffs.  I think New Orleans wins but Arizona covers.  Hopefully Sean Payton doesn’t forget how to coach in the playoffs like he did against the Bears in the 2007. 

Dallas @ Minnesota (-3)

Pick:  Cowboys

For some reason I like the Dallas to win this game straight up.  I AGREE with The Blasian about the Cowboys doing and their 2008 New York Giants impression.  Favre will get hit in this game and he won’t like that.  Look for some crazy throws and jump balls.  Romo keeps on moving to erase the memory of him not winning the big games, or games past November 30th.

New York Jets @ San Diego (-7.5)

Pick:  Chargers

The Sanchise goes back to SoCal but San Diego isn’t Washington State so the homecoming might not be so sweet.  If Philip Rivers can’t get it done, he’s dead to me.  I’ve defended him against the Eli Manning critics since he came in the league but he keeps disappointing me.  I know I’m in the ROK but I didn’t hear much about LaDanian Tomlinson this year.  Did I miss something?  It should be The Antonio Gates Show and that’ll do it for the Chargers.   

Who is Pete Axthelm you ask?  Remember, I’m old.  Pete Axthelm was on the NFL on NBC and ESPN Primetime in the late 80’s and early 90’s.  He’s the reason I gamble.  He knew everything about betting on football and horse racing.  “The Ax” was awesome.

Leave a Reply

