Friday Night Lights

Everyone knows that the television show is based on the book by H.G. Bissinger about the Permian Panthers in Odessa, Texas during their 1988 season, The Mark’s senior year. In the book, Boobie goes out in a preseason scrimmage game and is done for the season and the team eventually overcomes this obstacle only to be eliminated in the Semi-Finals of the State Playoffs by Dallas Carter. Its a very emotional book, as it discusses these real people growing up in West Texas, where the cliché Football  is life seems to be true.  In 2004,  the book became a hit sports movie of the same name, Friday Night Lights, and for the most part they didn’t Hollywood it too much, instead the Panthers made it to the state championship and Boobie Miles sticks around the team, but overall they are able to capture what really was happening.

Along comes the series of the same name, Friday Night Lights, which is a fictional story based on the idea of football being the driving force of a town, and how it affects everyone in the town, even if they do not like football, see Julie Taylor. The show is fantastic and often has little football elements, which keeps the show fresh and not looking like Playmakers or Varsity Blues, with crazy hits on every play. Often the players or the head coach, Eric Taylor, are going through some major off the field problems.  But it has become apparent that they are borrowing strongly from the history of Quarterbacks at the University of Texas. As of the end of season 3, season 4 is airing on Direct TV 101, Eric is out at the main powerhouse high school based on the moves the new powerful booster Joe McCoy, over the playing time of his son J.D. McCoy. This occurs after Coach Taylor brings back his QB, Matt Saracen, that he had benched earlier in the season for McCoy.  Saracen plays well, but the team falls short.  After I saw this I thought immediately of the Texas quarterback situation of Major Applewhite/ Chris Simms, in which Major Applewhite had accomplished a ton with the program only to be benched based on the hype of the new comer, Chris Simms, who has a powerful father in Phil Simms, football announcer and former Giant great, Chris Simms struggled and was booed by Texas fans for a lackluster showing in the Big 12 title game, they wanted Applewhite, after a injury they got their chance and Applewhite almost brought them all the way back.  The following game, Applewhite’s last as a Texas QB, he led the Longhorns to an improbable come back victory in the Holiday Bowl to go out on top…..So the writers changed the story slightly but Saracen is still Applewhite, and McCoy is Simms, and without spoiling season 4 for anyone, as most people don’t have Direct Tv, but Coach Taylor has a new quarterback who has an arm and is very fast and is starting at a young age. Can anyone say we have a new Vince Young, I cant wait for his senior year when they are the huge underdog and beat the “USC” high school. Anyways everyone should check out the show!

Moving on to reality

I’m not going to apologize, because I was the one who lost money if you made bets based solely on my predictions you don’t have a mind of your own.  That being said I have a much better feeling about this week, We don’t have three rematches from the week before with a bunch of people resting, so let me start.

Arizona @ New Orleans

Line: New Orleans -7

As a friend of mine would say, “New Orleans is really banged up, we are really hurt in the secondary.” That being stated I want to point to the over/under at 57, come on only 57? Shouldn’t it be around 100? These offenses are ridiculous when they get hot, and I wouldn’t expect anything but fire on Saturday. This same friend also said he had a feeling that New Orleans would lose in their first game, well I guess I will have to agree. I take Arizona to cover the seven. I think Boldin will play giving Warner another target, especially across the middle. I would seriously be dumbfounded if less than 57 points were scored, I mean didn’t Arizona put up 51 on the league’s statistically best defense last week?

Alright: Arizona

Baltimore @ Indianapolis

Line: Indianapolis -6.5

The Colts have been on rest for about a month now it seems, so they should be healthy, but will they be in game mode/shape? I think so. Baltimore’s game plan is not going to be much different from last week, GIVE THE BALL TO RAY, they will try to control the clock and give Peyton Manning as little time with the ball as possible.  I feel Indianapolis can stack the box better than New England did last week, which should add up to a few 3-and-outs. Giving Peyton to attack a defense that might be a little worn down. I don’t think it will matter that Oher is protecting Flacco’s  Blindside, after last weeks performance. I think its a great matchup to watch and the Colts will kick a field goal to finish it putting them up 10 with 3 minutes left.

Moving on: Colts

Dallas @ Minnesota

Line: Minnesota -3

So earlier this week I apologized to Dallas. I apologize so much I pick them to win in Minnesota. Why you ask? Not because of the game against Philly. But the way Minnesota played down the stretch, and mainly losing to Chicago, and the lack of committal to making Adrian Peterson the man. Dallas will win this game, based on Childress calling terrible offensive game and Dallas defense showing up again. Will Favre retire again?

Six shooter in Minnesota: Dallas

New York Jets @ San Diego

Line: San Diego -7

Oddly enough the Sanchise will return to the West Coast with a playoff win under his belt.  But this is where it ends, the young buck and the Jets will not leave San Diego with a victory or a loss by less than 8. Why? San Diego is going to be two-dimensional. Bring back the ground game, expect a big play out of one of the two RBs, my bet is on Sproles.  It’s an easy draw getting Cincinnati in the first round, but the Chargers are the hottest team right now and the front-runner to make it to the Super Bowl. A loss here and you can say goodbye to Norv Turner and to the chances of the Chargers winning one for a long time!

Get Electric

On aside on football, Big Fan is excellent. Check it out if you like football, Patton Oswalt, or know someone who lives with their mom and calls into SportsTalk

Comments
  1. The Mark says:

    My senior year was 1990.

    It’s crazy, seems like we have the same picks. You’re right about that Zona – New Orleans game, the O/U should be around 100. That game could be in the 50’s in the first half.

    About Friday Night Lights, great show. You don’t have to like football to like this show. Season 4 is shaping up to be my favorite.

  2. The Mark says:

    As much as I like this song, I like this version better.

  3. sittingpugs says:

    I enjoyed the film version of the book, but I think I prefer the first season of the TV series to the film.

    I haven’t watched the remaining seasons but have read plot summaries.

    I’ve read a third of the book. Gripping! My senior year of high school was in 1999. Nobody gave a flying frappuccino about us–nooo… the last of century meant nothing at my school. The first year of the 21st century, that graduating class got all of the metaphoric love.

    I’m going to add you to my blog croissant. c’est cool?

  4. The Mark says:

    Thank you for adding us to you blog croissant. We’re honored.

    You should really start re-watching Friday Night Lights. Season two was a bit iffy but I think it might have something to do with the whole writer’s strike thing. Season three and four are fantastic. Find a way to catch-up. I’m sure you’ll enjoy the series. Texas Forever!

  5. Becky Stuart says:

    Very good article. I’ve found your site via Google and I’m really happy about the information you provide in your posts. Btw your blogs layout is really broken on the Chrome browser. Would be great if you could fix that. Anyhow keep up the great work!

  6. The Bearded Guy says:

    Thanks for you comments Becky, as contributor, I am unsure why that is occurring in the chrome browser, I currently use Firefox in my posts. I hope you continue to read and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

